Workout Recap, 9/9 to 9/14

It’s shaping up to be a beautiful day here, hope your weekend’s going well!

Monday: 2.67 mile hike, 530 feet elevation gain. Fun morning jaunt with the pup.

hiking boots

Tuesday: 5 x (almost) 400 meter repeats. 3.14 miles, 11:46 average pace (includes warm up and recovery). Dynamic warm up. Skipped foam rolling/hip strength due to dinner plans (whoops, may have paid for this later).

Split

Time

Distance

Avg Pace

2

2:06.3

0.25

8:33

4

1:36.4

0.21

7:40

6

1:37.6

0.20

7:59

8

1:45.6

0.22

7:54

10

1:52.4

0.22

8:22

This is my first time tackling repeats not on a treadmill. I found a relatively flat quarter mile stretch and experimented with knocking them out. The only time I actually hit 400m was the first repeat. I’d like to blame it on my lack of planning to mark where my 400m ended (excuses, excuses), but really I think it was because I was busting out of the gate a bit too fast (my current PR for a mile is 9:47).

Wednesday: off

Thursday: off

Friday: 6.66 (what a coincidence) long, achy, discouraging miles, 12:27 min/mile. Dynamic warm, 10 min foam roll.

My long run for the week and it felt ridiculously hard. I don’t know if it was my body not yet recovered from the new speed work on Tuesday, the couple glasses of wine on Thursday dehydrating me, or the fact that I was constantly running into or perpendicular to the wind, but the only good thing about this run was when it was over. My hips were aching so bad I wanted to cry (this leads me to think it was too soon after the speed work).

Since I’ve started running farther distances and over an hour, I thought I’d give one of those handheld water bottles a try. I picked one up at Marshall’s on the cheap for around 10 bucks…fail sauce. I felt like I was carrying lead in my hand, even after I dumped a good portion of the water out. Maybe if I had a smaller bottle? Are the waist belts any better?

long run horibleness

I also failed by not bringing along fuel for this run. I’ve just built up to running for over an hour in the past few weeks, so my fueling technique is pretty much non-existent at this point. By the time I made it home, had a quick snack, showered, and was able to make myself dinner, my stomach was so empty that trying to eat food was making me nauseous. Lesson learned!

Saturday: 2 mile leisurely walk with the pup to keep things loose. Was still feeling worn out from yesterday, but comforted myself with a tasty treat…or two.

breakfast at cafe M

Sunday: 2 miles, 11:21 avg pace. Short, easy shake out run. My legs felt fresher than Friday, but not 100%. 

Run total: 11.8 miles

Hike/walk total: 4.67 miles

Overall: I’ve been feeling so confident and capable after increasing my long runs by a half mile to a mile every week for the past month or so, that I think it went to my head this week. I wanted to throw some speed work in, plus do a longer long run, plus shoot for four days of running, and in the end maybe all that was just too much! My head is usually leaps and bounds ahead of what my body’s ready for, and walking that fine line between pushing myself just enough to see continual improvement but not so much that I totally wear myself out is challenging. Next week I’ll be focusing on hip strength, hamstring stretches and IT band foam rolls to try to prevent those achy hips from getting any worse.

Always, Sierra

Do you carry a water bottle or wear a hydration belt when you run? I’m thinking I’d have better luck with camelpak than something handheld.

Leave a Reply

