Thursday is the new Friday

Sometimes I like to go to Starbucks for lunch and feed my coffee addiction pretend I’m one of those cool people who gets to hang out at cafes during weekdays.

Starbucks for lunchHave you tried the Zesty Chicken Bowl? So freaking tasty, much better than the brown rice/kale bowl imo.

Last night, I went to Pasta Pelican with some of my fave gals.

Pasta Pelican

This was my second visit this week. It all started with a living social deal for dinner on Tuesday. The food was delicious, and between the classical music, homey feel and waterfront views, my soul was soothed. I did some ear-hustling while we were there and discovered that Thursdays are $10 wine tastings, all you can drink. True story.

When I hear wine tasting, I think small portions carefully poured into large glasses. Imagine how I felt when I walked in and saw this serve yourself table.

PhotoGrid_1379098819531

I like your style Pasta Pelican. Nicely done.

Just a few days ago I was browsing through the pages of the September issue of Better Homes & Gardens, and there’s an article featuring several health and fitness pr’s and some of their favorite tips. Here are two of my favorites, both dealing with my favorite thing in the world: food!

PhotoGrid_1379098893752{click for easier reading}

I’m a fan of sharing plates and taking home leftovers too when I eat out, but that whole eat an apple thing never works for me. I finish the apple and I’m just as hungry when I get to the restaurant.

Sometimes if I’m headed to happy hour (or all you can drink wine-tasting), I eat a meal at home before I go. Usually whatever I fix myself is going to be much healthier than what I’d end up indulging in while out, plus this helps me avoid drinking on an empty stomach and helps me save money. Last night I made a quick kale and ham saute with lots of veggies before I met up with the girls and then shared a bruschetta appetizer when I got there. Pasta Pelican’s bruschetta is on soft bread which I loved! I always feel so awkward when I eat the crunchy bruschetta. I’ve got a bit of a fear of dentists and imagine all of my teeth cracking with every bite. Hi, my name is Sierra and I’m neurotic about my teeth lol.

Do you have any favorite eating out tips? Have a great weekend!

Always, Sierra

 

Leave a Reply

