There’s a reason they call it fishing…

There’s a reason they call it fishing and not catching! Saturday there was a lot of this…

fishing

…but not a lot of this…

click for source

My Mom and Dad have taken us on family fishing trips for as far back as I can remember. Dad loved telling everyone about how I outfished him before I could walk. A minor detail he never included was that he spent the majority of his time making sure I had bait and unsnagging my snags. This was my first trip without him, and I was worried fishing might be “broken” for me. 

Every fisher(wo)man wants to catch the biggest fish in the lake, me included. And, everytime I tell a story about catching something, the fish gets a little bigger and bigger until it really was the biggest fish in the lake.

But, Dad taught me that fishing isn’t always about the catching. Sometimes, it’s just about having a pole in the water, a quiet mind, and good company. This weekend I was fortunate enough to have the best fishing/life buddy I could ask for and a new friend to boot. The minute I had a pole in my hands I felt twenty times better. We were at Shadow Cliffs, a new to me fishing spot, and there were lots of pretty views to enjoy.

fish2

It was so hot that the regional park district decided to hover a helicopter over us to get a nice breeze going. They offered to give me a ride but only if I tried on some of their fancy bracelets. I declined.

helicopter

I soothed my lack of victory over the fishies with a little yoga by the lake.

yoga

I was prepping for the deliciousness Mom and I would be eating on Sunday. We celebrated Mother’s Day with a late lunch at Dad’s Kitchen …all I have to say is run, don’t walk. The Hot Blonde and garlic-parmesan fries were delicious and the quality Mom-time I got was even better.

Always, Sierra

Do you have any biggest fish in the lake stories?

Have you ever ridden in a helicopter?

Try any delicious new places for Mother’s Day?

5 thoughts on “There’s a reason they call it fishing…

  1. Fishing has held so many wonderful memories for us as a family. You truly did start fishing around or just before your first birthday down in the Delta and it was so much fun!
    You have so many wonderful gifts to give to the world and your writing is one of them that you have also loved doing since you started writing stories and poems in 2nd and 3rd grade. Keep up the great work and continue to make many more new memories fishing and otherwise that you can one day share with your own family.
    I am very proud to have been the mother lucky enough to be blessed with having you as my daughter and I love you so very much!

Leave a Reply

