Workout Recap: Half Marathon Training Weeks 7 & 8

Let’s breeze through Week 7 recap (Spoiler Alert – nothing much happened), and then rejoice in the awesomeness of Week 8!

Week 7: 2/3/14 – 2/09/14

Wednesday: 3.55 miles on the treadmill, 12:46 min/mile. I think running on the treadmill has been contributing to occasional back pain, so I’ve decided if I’m stuck inside for a run I’m going to take it slow and easy.

Thursday: 3.30 miles, with two miles tempo, 11:25 min/mile.

Sunset Run

Every other day of the week: nada

Run miles: 6.85

Overall: A week of low motivation and the rainy weather we’ve been waiting for coincided with a step back week. I wish I could work up the energy to be disappointed, but I spent it all on setting PR’s in Week 8 :).

Week 8: 2/10/14 – 2/16/14

Monday: 5 miles, 11.19 min/mile. The fog rolled in and made it feel otherworldly.

Foggy Run

Tuesday: Foam Roll/Rest

Wednesday: 3 miles, 9:55 min/mile. PR city (unofficial)!! This is the first time I’ve finished 3 miles in under 30 minutes. I guess there’s some benefit to training after all! I’ve always felt that 10 minute miles were my own personal obstacle to get past, so it felt pretty freaking amazing to accomplish this. Don’t ask me to maintain it for long, but damn it, I can do it!

3 miles under 30

Thursday: Rest. My legs felt good, but I figured I’d give them a day to recover from the faster than average pace.

Friday: 3 miles, 11.14 min/mile.

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: 9 miles, 11:57 min/mile in perfect running weather. This is my longest run to date, and I loved every second of it. From this point forward, every week will be a new personal best for me in terms of distance, which is kind of cool. 9 miles felt better than 8 miles, and I can feel how far I’ve come in terms of endurance and fitness.

Run miles: 20 miles (probably my week of highest run volume?)

Overall: Today marks my two month period of training for my first half-marathon, and it was so rewarding to see how far I’ve come this week. I should have tried this whole concrete training plan thing earlier!

Always, Sierra

Are you training for a spring race? Or planning a spring fling get away?

 

Leave a Reply

