Workout Recap: Half Marathon Training Week 3, 1/6 – 1/12

A day late and a dollar short! Well, several dollars short since I don’t get paid for all this :).

I went to write this post Saturday only to find that my laptop refused to turn on. There had been no blue screens of impending doom, no warning signals. Just a laptop that was dead to the world. I checked to make sure the cord was plugged in, pushed the power button again and again…nada. I stuck it back on the shelf just knowing the battery had gone kaput and that the Mr. would have to work his magic when he got back into town.

Well, he worked his magic this morning all right. Turns out his magic involves making sure that the cord’s not just plugged in but plugged ALL THE WAY in. D’oh. Stupid technologies.

Monday: Stretch + strength

Tuesday: 2.96 miles, 11.14 min/mile average, with 4 x 400 repeats. Clearly I could work on consistency with these repeats! I also think I’m getting out of the gate a bit fast.

First – 0.26 mi in 2:15.3, 8:41 pace

Second – 0.24 mile in 2.07.5, 9:01 pace

Third – 0.25 mile in 2.19.2, 9:15 pace

Fourth – 0.25 mile in 2.09.3, 8:31 pace

Wednesday: lazy rest

Thursday: 2.21 miles, 12.21 min/mile, hills. I had plans Thursday evening to check out Amaluna with the girls, and it was so tempting to skip this run. Work ran late, I wanted to eat a healthy meal at home before I left, I had to factor in time for BART, if I ran I’d have to blow dry my hair, etc. But I resisted all the excuses and just got done with I could do. It wasn’t the three miles I had planned, but it was better than zero miles.

Also Amaluna was great! One of the dancers had the most amazing back and I had some major back envy going on. There was also a sudden urge to take trapeze classes then run away and join the circus. Who’s coming with me?

Amaluna

Friday: 4.10 miles on the treadmill, 12:00 min/mile. Strength.

Saturday: 6 miles, 12.06 min/mile. A long run on a nice overcast morning. We were supposed to get some much-needed rain, but it drizzled for all of two seconds. I was disappointed.

Bay Trail

Sunday: Rest…took a quick road trip to hang with my brother for the day! We had a great time. Between you and me, he is one of my favorite people in the world, maybe even the universe.

20140112_201117-1

I was beat by the time I got home (8 hours on the road will do that to ya!), but I pushed through and did some food prep for the first part of the week. It paid off when I sat down to lunch today.

meal prep

Running Miles: 15.27

Here’s to another week of good company, good workouts, and yummy food!

Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

