Workout Recap: Half Marathon Training Week 2, 12/30 – 1/5

Week 2 of training has gone well! The training plan called for my first run at half-marathon pace. I laughed when I read this. It’s my first half, shouldn’t I be happy with whatever pace gets me across the finish line?!

This being the age of the internet and all, I turned to my trusty coach Google. Turns out Runner’s World has a pretty awesome race time predictor, ever used it? I plugged in my fastest 5K time (2013 See Jane Run) and it spit out all kinds of fun geek-out numbers.

race times predictor

{source}

It looks accurate to me! Around the time I hit that 5K PR, I also had my fastest (unofficial) mile at 9:46, and my 10K times were in the same neighborhood as above.

That means, if everything goes well, I’m looking at a roughly two and half hour half-marathon time. Let’s say that again…two and a half hours. 2:30. That’s crazy to me!!! I’m torn between feeling like I should be able to finish faster and feeling disbelief that I’ll be running for that long straight. But I’m in it to win finish it, and can’t wait to see how it all turns out.

Monday: 3.01 hilly miles in the hood, 12:14 min/mile.

Tuesday: Strength

New Year's Eve workout

Wednesday: Rest & Recovery (From workouts? From New Year’s Eve? I’ll let you ponder that one…)

Thursday: 3.3 miles on the treadmill, 3 of them at 5.5 mph and 1% incline for an approximate 11:00 min/mile pace. This was my run to be done at half-marathon pace, which would be 11:35ish according to the above, only I did all the googling after the run instead of before. Oh well, we’ll just say I’m ambitious! #notaplanner

Friday: 3.31 evening miles in the neighborhood and strength. The same routine as above, adjusted to two times and minus the jumping jacks and burpees. My intent was to focus on form more than reps since my muscles were already being worked out by the hilly running.

evening run

Saturday: Cross-training day, a leisurely walk with the Pita creature.

Sunday: 5 rough miles, 13.04 min/mile with lots of stopping/walk breaks. You ever have one of those runs where your mind is totally in it, and your body is still in bed? I started out feeling like I was running through quicksand. And not because my legs felt heavy (that came later), but because for the life of me I could not catch my breath and get into a rhythm. Every step felt like 100 steps. It took me about a mile, mile and a half to realize dehydration was the culprit. My mouth was dry, my breath was hot, it was ridiculous. I finally made it back round to a water fountain 3.5 miles in, and water has never tasted so delicious.

Water Never Tasted So Good

Running Total Miles: 14.62

Always, Sierra

What adventures have you been up to this weekend?

Leave a Reply

