Run to Feed the Hungry: 20th Anniversary

I started Thanksgiving off this year with my first ever Turkey Trot, the Run to Feed the Hungry race in Sacramento. This year was the race’s 20th anniversary, and there were over 28,000 runners! Crazy big, at least to me!

The Mr. and I got into town just before 8am Thanksgiving morning. I was aiming to run the 10K, but the start time was 8:35 and I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to make it. We dropped our stuff at Mom’s house, and then the Mr. and I headed out on a mission to get me as close to the start as possible. About a mile and a half away, we hit stop and go traffic. I ended up bailing from the car around 8:20 and considered the mile-ish jog to the start my “warm-up”. I made it just in the nick of time.

Run to Feed the Hungry

My favorite part of the course was the first third along J street, going through the Fab 40s neighborhood. There were lots of spectators out who had houses along the course, and I got a kick thinking about how it was as much of a tradition to watch the race for some families as it was to participate.

We passed Mercy General about a mile and a half into the course, and my thoughts were full of my Dad, who spent a lot of time before passing in those halls. This was our second Thanksgiving without him, and our first Thanksgiving without making him his own lemon meringue pie.

IMG_20121005_091803_thumb.jpg

Lots of people had awesome turkey hats on, but these people definitely won first place in terms of costume creativity.

wpid-20131128_090000.jpg

There were three people in that thing, and they were giving off some pretty righteous turkey calls!

3.75 miles into the race and I was ready for some diversions. I happened to stumble across the most awesome spectators ever, running a mimosa aid station. In case there was any doubt, the best fuel for a Thanksgiving morning race is champagne + orange juice. To the spectators who spent their time and energy handing out mimosas, you guys rock! Seriously made my morning.

Run to Feed the Hungry mimosas

That mimosa upped my energy level like no other and the next couple miles were all about taking in the sights, enjoying the music and giving thanks.

Run to Feed the Hungry  band

Even though this was only a 10K, I figured Thanksgiving was the perfect time to dedicate every mile and give thanks and remembrance to the people in my life. Here’s how my miles went:

  • Pre-jog run to the start: Grateful for legs that get me where I want to go when I need to be there.
  • Mile 1: Grateful to the Mr. for being the best support crew today and everyday
  • Mile 2: In remembrance of my Dad
  • Mile 3: Looking forward to going home to cook with my Mom, and remembering when it used to be cooking with my Grandma
  • Mile 4: Appreciating my family that I would be with later and the ones that are farther away, and my Aunt and Uncle for always hosting Thanksgiving at their house
  • Mile 5: Grateful for the friends who have become family over the years, my brothers from another mother and sisters from another mister
  • Mile 6: Thinking about seeing my brother on Sunday, and to our round two feasting that we will have
  • Mile 0.2: The shortest distance for the smallest creature…my sweet little chihuahua mix, Lupita, who came into my 4 years ago and changed it for the better.

I crossed the finish line in 1:14:19, a 7 minute PR for me, and a decent time for me considering the bobbing and weaving for the first and last mile.

Run to Feed the Hungry results

Run to Feed the Hungry has become a Thanksgiving tradition for many in the Sacramento area, both for those running/walking and those who enjoy spectating. I can’t help but think it’s a must run for me going forward. The spirit of the event was amazing!

I can’t speak much to the after-race party, because when I finished the run it was all about getting down to business. I finally met back up with the Mr. and it was time to get home to start cooking. I was on-deck for dressing and candied yams.

Thanksgiving candied yams

I wish I had taken a picture of our full spread of food because we did amazing things this year, but to be honest I was way too busy enjoying the deliciousness. A shout out to my Aunt for the tasty green beans, and to Yvette for the delicious adobo. (FYI Yvette, you’ve been offered money to produce adobo on a regular when you’re interested!)

I still say the best part of Thanksgiving is the morning after omellette courtesy of the Mr….eggs + cheese + turkey + stuffing + bacon = amazing. I’m so sad the pictures came out a little blurry, but the food was perfect!

Thanksgiving Omelette

Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

Always, Sierra

How was your Thanksgiving? Did you do a Turkey Trot? Favorite food you ate?

Did you do any Black Friday shopping? 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Run to Feed the Hungry: 20th Anniversary

  1. Pingback: Favorite Posts of 2013 | Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

