Hello September! Workout Recap, 8/26 to 9/1

Happy Labor Day! Hope you’re enjoying the long weekend, the weather in my part of the world is gorgeous. Thought I’d stop in for a few and chat about my runs this week.

Monday: off

Tuesday: 3.01 mile progression run, 10:30 avg pace, and my first mile under 10 minutes! Dynamic warm-up, 10 min foam roll, hip strength 3 x 12 each move, clamshells 3 x 20 each side and bridges 3 x 20.

running milestone

Wednesday: off

Thursday: off

Friday: Starting a tradition of long run Friday. 5.71 miles at 11:43 avg pace, up from last week. Was shooting for 6 miles even, but the heat started getting to me after four miles and I turned around early. I need to get smart about fueling if I’m going to keep increasing mileage. Dynamic warm-up, 10 min foam roll. Hip/glute strength fail, was in desperate need of sustenance.

temp

long run Friday

Saturday: Does hours of walking around Great America with short bursts of high intensity roller coaster rides count as cross-training? I was so disappointed to find they renamed Top Gun to Flight Deck!

Girls Day at Great America

Sunday: 2.50 miles, 11.22 avg pace. A few short, steep inclines, and two longer, gradual inclines.  Dynamic warm-up, 10 min foam roll. 

Run: 11.22 miles

Overall: Work got the better of cross-training (and blogging!) this week. I fit in three quality runs, and had a major running milestone…my first 9:xx mile! Never mind that I was this close to heaving when I finished lol. I’m calling this week a win, and looking to add another day of running next week.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

Always, Sierra

When’s the last time you went to an amusement park?

One thought on “Hello September! Workout Recap, 8/26 to 9/1

  1. Pingback: Workout Recap: Half Marathon Training Week 2, 12/30 – 1/5 | Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

