Workout Recap, 8/19 to 8/25

It felt great to get back into routine this week! Work was crazy every day, and every day it was tempting to tell myself I “deserved” a rest day. I just kept reminding myself that being active is my way of de-stressing, and that I would feel better after getting started.

Monday: Easy recovery run, 2.19 miles at 11.14 avg pace. Dynamic warm-up, 10 min foam roll, hip strength 3 x 12 each move, clamshells 3 x 20 each side and bridges 3 x 20.

stank face

Tuesday: Strength workout. Two rounds for time:

  • 2.5 min jump rope
  • 25 squats (alternate 5 regular, 5 plyo)
  • 25 shuttle runs
  • 25 incline push-ups
  • 2.5 min jumping jacks
  • 25 tricep dips
  • 25 burpees

Round 1 – 13 min, 3 min break, Round 2 – 15 min

Wednesday: 3.98 mile run, forgot my watch! Was tempted to run nekkid, but ended up using My Tracks App on my phone to keep track of the stats. Not sure how my average speed ended up being faster than my average moving speed? Skipped foam rolling/hip strength in favor of quick rinse and food to my face. Was exhausted!

no watch

Thursday: off

Friday: Intended to go out for a nice, easy 3 miler, and it felt so good I turned it into 5.01! 10:56 average pace. And! Check out the pace times below. That’s one of the most consistent runs I’ve ever had pace wise! Stomach started getting a little sloshy around 4.25 miles. Dynamic warm-up, 10 min foam roll, hip strength 3 x 12 each move, clamshells 3 x 20 each side and bridges 3 x 20.

long run

Saturday: Strength workout. Switched up the order this go round to try to balance out arms and legs a little better. Two rounds for time:

  • 2.5 min jump rope
  • 25 incline push ups
  • 2.5 min jumping jacks
  • 25 squats (alternate 5 regular, 5 plyo)
  • 25 shuttle runs
  • 25 tricep dips
  • 25 burpees

Round 1 – 13 min, 3 min break, Round 2 – 16 min

Sunday: off

Run: 11.18 miles

Overall: A really strong, successful week. Increasing my mileage, and getting back to incorporating strength. Was going to get back to four days of running and get out there today in the misty morning, but my back was a little grumpy after a week of pushing hard so I decided to give it the extra rest day. This was one of my favorite strength workouts I’ve put together for myself, I was sweating buckets at the end. I look forward to coming back to it in a few weeks to see if my times improve and working up to completing three rounds.

Always, Sierra

What inspires your strength routines? I used to love keeping a folder of workouts from magazines and just randomly picking one whenever I felt things were getting stale.

Leave a Reply

