Motivation Monday

Gibson’s Daily Running Quotes is one of my favorite sources for motivation! (Follow on Facebook.)

“This past weekend I ran my first 5K of the season… I looked at all of the ladies and realized that they all looked like what you expect runners to look like. They were all compact and muscular, with flat stomachs, visible abs, sinewy thighs. Probably they all had body-fat percentages in the teens.And then there was me.

I don’t look like a runner… I look solid and sturdy and thick. I’m tall – taller than most women and even most men. My stomach isn’t flat. It hasn’t been since…actually, I don’t think it ever has been flat. My thighs are muscular but not lean. And ‘compact’ is a word that describes my car, not my body. When I sign up for races, I qualify for the Bonnydale or Athena weight divisions – the female athletes who weigh over 150 pounds.

I don’t look like a runner.

And yet there I was, the third woman across the finish line. My body was slick with sweat, my face red with exertion, my feet barely touching the ground because I was running so f****** hard. I may not look like a runner, but I am one – a good one, too. And I’m only going to get better…

When I thought about the results of the race, I had to laugh because it all seemed so ridiculous. ‘I’m like walking proof that you don’t have to have visible abs to be fast,’ I said.

The more I thought about this, the more pleased I was. I hoped other women saw me and thought that they didn’t have to look like ripped fitness models to run fast. I hoped they understood that having a flat stomach or fat-free thighs were not a prerequisite for speed.

We need to talk about how the world is filled with runners who do not ‘look like runners.’ There are triathletes who do not ‘look like triathletes.’ There are dancers who do not ‘look like dancers.’ And yet we’re all out here, running and competing and dancing and doing all kinds of things with our bodies, things our bodies look like they should not be capable of doing, and yet there we are, doing them.

I don’t look like I should be a fast runner, and yet I am.

It’s not about what we look like. It’s what we do that counts.”

-Caitlin Constantine, Fit and Feminist

 
I am definitely solid and sturdy and thick…and short! I will never be tall and lean and 10% body fat. But I am a runner, and I will be faster, because I love it and I work at it, and I will continue to do so.
 
if you have a body, you are an athlete
 
Always, Sierra 
Leave a Reply

