Weekly Workout Recap, 8/5 to 8/11

I tuned this week down a bit, I think higher mileage plus new shoes have been making some of my joints twingey.

Monday: 35 min swim, 5 sets of 5 x 25 meters.

swim selfie

Pre-swim selfie! 1. I get my swim on in a Target one piece, 2. I have to wear my glasses until the last possible minute because I’m blind, 3. swim caps are for professionals

Tuesday: 4.25 miles, half trail half street, 11:47 average pace. I did some informal hill work. Dynamic warm-up, 10 min foam roll, hip strength 3 x 12 each move, clamshells 3 x 20 each side and bridges 3 x 20.

Tuesday elevation

Wednesday: off

Thursday: Yoga Zone Yoga for a Strong and Healthy Back Part 1: 18 minutes, Yoga Zone Evening Stress Relief Part 2: 21 mins. Hip strength 3 x 12 each move, 3 x 20 bridges.

Friday: Two miles on the treadmill

Saturday: Off

Sunday: Hopefully a 6-8 mile run to the California lighthouse in Aruba! OMG, that humdity got the best of me. I did get an hour of snorkeling and a half hour of rope swinging off a catamaran in! My body definitely felt like it got a good workout in on Monday.

Run: 6.25 miles

Swim: 35 mins, 1 day

Overall:  I focused less on mileage/intensity this week, and more on incorporating some healthy habits like yoga and hip/glute/hamstring strength work. I met my goal of getting a yoga day in and of increasing mileage of one of my runs even it was only a bit. This is the first week in a long time that I’ve ran on the treadmill, and it wasn’t horrible but I did miss my birdwatching.

How was your week?

Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

