Five Things I’m Looking Forward To In Aruba

A day of heavy computer work and sitting yesterday left my hips all achey and my ankles all twingey, so I did some yoga at home to stretch things out.

yoga on hulu

Quick tip: Hulu is a great resource for free yoga “classes”. Most of the classes are 20-30 minutes long so you can combine different target areas to customize your workout. (One caveat: you still have to sit through 30 second commercials in some of the episodes, but I use that time to focus on my breathing…or check my phone for messages…bad yogi, bad!)

I wanted to take it gentle on my hips and ankles so I wouldn’t have to worry about hobbling around in…Aruba!

Tonight I’ll be hopping on one of these…

{source}

..and tomorrow I’ll be waking up to this!

{source}

Y’s brother is letting us use his timeshare, and I could not be more ready for time spent with good friends and some tropical paradise in my life. I’ve been doing some research to let the anticipation build, and here are a few things I’m looking forward to.

1. Running to the California Lighthouse – The lighthouse isn’t open to the public, but the views are supposed to be spectacular, particularly at sunset. First lit in 1916, it is named after a steamship that sank not far off the coast in the late 1800s. It’s around a 6-8 mile roundtrip run depending on where in Noord you start. Exploring new places on foot is one of the reasons I started running, so I’m super excited. Word on the street is that all the local goats hang out there too, and you know I love me some animals!

2. Learning some Papiamento – Papiamento is the official language of Aruba. Its parent language is believed to be Iberian,  but it has grown to incorporate parts of Dutch, English and Spanish. I enjoy hearing the rhythm of different languages when I travel, and I hope to pick up at least a word or two. With phrases like

Eynan e porco su rabo ta krul (“That is where the pig’s tail curls”): that is where the problem lies.

how could this not be an awesome language?

3. Exploring Arikok National Park – Almost 20% of the island of Aruba has been dedicated to create this national park that is home to burrowing owls, bat caves, wild donkeys, cascabels, and Arawak Indian drawings. Horseback riding and hiking are both options, and there’s a Natural Pool to take a dip in too. I’m not sure if we’ll make it here since it’ll be a short visit and we’re staying on the other side of the island , but I hope we do!

4. Absorbing the culture – By absorbing, I mean opening my mouth and inserting deliciousness like pastechi, croquettes, and calco stoba. Checking out the flea market would also be fantastic, and I found this great website for birding.

5. Taking some time to just be – I’m going to enjoy the chance to get out of my head a bit. To get away from the busyness and sense of urgency that comes from putting out a dozen small fires a day. There will be sun salutations. There will be sketching and poems and rambling sentences. Laughter, and hugs, and joy at winning roulette. There will be fun in the sun with good friends. Restoration and relaxation.

I’ll have some scheduled posts going up until I get back next week. I’ll leave you with this priceless gem, something I’ve been humming all week and that I never get tired of…

Always, Sierra

What’s the last vacation you took?

Have you been to Aruba? Any recommendations?

What’s your favorite Beach Boys song? Did you see that one episode of Full House? You know the one!

 

4 thoughts on “Five Things I’m Looking Forward To In Aruba

  1. I am so happy for all of you girls. What a beautiful place to visit and I know you will all have a wonderful and memorable time. By the way, I love Kokomo and I am ready to go. Can’t wait to hear about your trip and see lots of pics. Love you bushels!

    Godspeed.

Leave a Reply

