Tomatoes and Sea Lions and Hills, oh my!

Omg guys, look at the size of my tomatoes!

home grown tomatoes

This is the first time I’ve been part of planting a garden, and I’ve never been so excited to see ripe tomatoes in my life. The big one in the front tasted like candy…sweet, juicy tomato candy. There’s even a tiny eggplant growing back there in that tangle of greenness! I think I’m ready for 50 acres and a plow.

I’m also ready for my next race…Run for the Seals 2013!

run for the seals 2013

The race is August 17th and there’s a 2 mile fun run/walk or a 4 mile run. A couple of years ago I did the 2 mile fun run/walk with my girls Y and A. I showed up in jeans and hiking boots with a chihuahua in tow.

Run for the Seals 2010

The course was gorgeous, and we had a great time dog and costume watching. This year, Y and I signed up for the 4 mile run. Being in the Marin headlands, I’m expecting the course to be on the hilly side. The website also says it’ll be a self-timed event, i.e. no chips, so this run’ll be more for fun and less about PR city.

Run for the Seals is a fundraising even to benefit The Marine Mammal Center, a great organization that helps rehabilitate and re-release sick, injured or orphaned marine mammals. I volunteered there a few years ago, and it was extremely rewarding and extremely smelly.

mmc

Some of the animals that came in were in heart-breaking condition. This is Abagnale, a sea lion who got entangled in fishing line, and one of the success stories. He eluded rescuers for almost three weeks, but we were eventually able to rescue him, rehab him at the center, and release him back into the wild. It was an awesome experience.

There’s more information about the Marine Mammal Center here, and more information about the race here. Come out and Run for the Seals!

Always, Sierra

Are you running for the seals?

Do you have a vegetable garden? Are you more green thumb or more black thumb? Truth be told, I’m more black thumb. I always forget to water stuff!

Anybody know what I can do with green, unripe tomatoes that fell off the vine?

2 thoughts on “Tomatoes and Sea Lions and Hills, oh my!

  1. Pingback: Run for the Seals 2013 Race Recap | Always, Sierra

  2. Pingback: Mermaids, Squids, and Sharks all Ran for the Seals! | Sunset Daily

Leave a Reply

