Fun Stuff I Haven’t Posted

I missed a whole week of posts and haven’t had a chance to share some of the fun things I’ve been up to lately. A couple of weekends ago, I checked out the California State Fair with my Mom. We’ve gone for almost as long as I can remember, and I look forward to it every year.

Our first stop was the livestock tents, I’m such a sucker for the cute little critters.

PhotoGrid_1375662052778

We also checked out one of this year’s special exhibits, Wild Science. As soon as I saw the giant versions of my favorite games I was super psyched. Life-size scrabble? Game on!

PhotoGrid_1375662120281

Every year, the State Fair has I think 8-9 galleries set up with different arts, skills and crafts that people submit for competition. It spans all age groups, and covers everything from raising chickens to designing houses. When I was younger, I never had the patience to look through everything, but now it’s one of my favorite reasons for going. It’s inspiring to see so much creativity in one place, and here were a couple of my favorites.

PhotoGrid_1375662310509

That sugar skull is so detailed!

I also had some specialized superhero training. My first lesson was the importance of color coordinating.

practicing being the hulk

The weirdest food we saw was deep-fried watermelon, which made me think of this awesome blogger, but at $7 we decided to pass. We feasted on gyros and fried zucchini instead.

PhotoGrid_1375662246804

Already looking forward to next year!

I also recently attended the wedding of a good friend of mine. I’ve known R for over 6 years, and it was crazy to see him all grown up and getting married. He’s found an awesome woman to share the rest of his life with, C is as feisty, generous and loving as he is. Their wedding was at The Gardens at Heather Farms, and it was a little warm but the gorgeous venue made up for it. C walked down the aisle through the gardens to the classic Etta James hit A Sunday Kind of Love, and all kinds of tears were flowing.

R&C

Part of the fun was having the two best dates ever, I love these gals!

R&C2We occupied ourselves with photo shoots while waiting for the couple to make their first appearance. How awesome is that squash bird/carved watermelon combo?

Also, you might recognize my dress from here. The beauty of weddings involving different groups of friends is getting to recycle a great outfit. Save money and still look cute? Yes please!

The couple kicked off the reception with their first dance, and spent the rest of the evening celebrating their union.

R&C3

Congrats R & C, wishing you many years of happiness and love!

Always, Sierra

What fun have you been up to lately?

Do you ever recycle wedding outfits?

What’s your favorite fair treat?

Leave a Reply

