Weekly Workout Recap 7/22 – 7/28

How’s your weekend going? Mine’s great minus the fact that my laptop is in need of first aid! The monitor has power but I get nary a picture, just a black screen. Any suggestions? I think I might be shopping for a new one soon.

image

Here’s what this week’s workouts look liked.

Monday: Swam 5 sets of 5 x 25. Treaded water 3 x 30 sec. Breaking the laps up into smaller sets has definitely helped the breathing.

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: 4.02 miles in new shoes, 12:13 average pace.  Dynamic warm-up, foam rolled 10 minutes, hamstring and hip flexor stretches. I spent a good portion of the third mile walking due to some majorly uncomfortable GI stress. I spent the entire four miles being a fashionista. image Thursday: Swam 5 sets of 5 x 25. Tread water 3 x 45 sec. Noticed sore/tight hips during the day, possibly because of the new shoes yesterday? 45 min walk with Pita.

Friday: 3.90 miles, 11:47 average pace. Dynamic warm-up, foam rolled 10 minutes, hamstring and hip flexor stretches. Rough attempt at a progression run, I jumped my pace up too fast in the second mile. Made up for it at the end with some sprints. I was disappointed to see that I stopped just a minute short of a full four miles, but those sprints took it out of me.image Saturday: 60 min Barrelates class. I was sweating buckets, way more intense than last week’s class, but it burned so good. 30 min walk with Pita.

Sunday: 2.24 easy miles, 11:52 average pace. Dynamic warm-up halfway through. Buns on fire from yesterday’s class. I also got a chance to catch up with my favorite Black-Crowned Night Heron.

image

Overall: Did a good job of sticking to what I had planned, and increased both my mileage and the days of swimming. I noticed some hip soreness this week, so next week I’ll plan on keeping a similar routine but also start adding a couple days of hip strength back into my routine. Really loving barrelates. Miles Ran: 10.16.

I have a wedding to get ready for, enjoy your Sunday and get active!

Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

