Weekly Workout Recap, 7/15 to 7/21

I started my weekly workout recap posts at the end of June, and then the next couple weeks passed without a peep, mostly because I haven’t been doing much to recap. I’m getting back into the swing of things, and struggling with feeling like I’ve taken a couple of steps back. Consistency is a lesson I learn over and over.

Monday: 2.57 easy miles trail/street combo, 11:56 average pace, nice and cool; foam roll 10 minutes, hamstring and hip flexor stretches

Tuesday: 30 min swim, 2 sets of 12 x 25 meters in 15 minutes; 3 x 30 seconds treading water.

Wednesday: 4.01 miles, street, slow and easy, 12:05 average pace; foam roll 10 minutes, hamstring and hip flexor stretches

Thursday: rest

Friday: 60 min yoga at home

Yoga

Saturday: 60 min Barrelates class at bePhysique, 45 min walk. This was my first barrelates class and I loved it! The combination of strength, stretching and focus on form was satisfying and pretty intense.

barrelates

I’m addicted to Peet’s Iced Coconut Latte – so refreshing!

Sunday: 2.01 miles, street, 11:13 average pace, trial run in new shoes and first time trying a dynamic warm-up

Run total: 8.58 miles, 3 days

Swim: 30 mins, 1 day

Overall: Sweet success! Three solid days of running at lower mileage to ease back into things. It was a great week of mixing more cross-training into my routine, including more stretching and yoga which my body has definitely enjoyed. I also tried out a dynamic warm-up for the first time and think it’s something that I’ll be incorporating as a regular part of my runs. More on that soon. 

Did you workout last week?

Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

