Keeping Those Priorities Front and Center

My To-Do’s for work and home occasionally look more like a novel than a list.

If only mine came in such pretty packaging

When all my willpower and focus is on getting things done, I forget to do simple things like drink water and breathe. No, really.

prioritiesSo, I made a list of priorities. A visual cue to remember to slow down when things get fast. There will never be a time when all my to-do’s are crossed off, and that makes it so important to remember to take care of me in the little ways. 

This week’s priorities:

  • H2O: I’m great about drinking water when days are “normal”. As soon as things get busy (AKA 95% of the time), I start hustling around like a mad woman and am lucky if I slow down to get a sip at the water fountain. Really bad habit.
  • Regular breaks away from desk: Did you read the article in the August Runner’s World about how long periods of sitting can lead to all kinds of health risks? (The link’s not up on the website yet, I’ll update soon). I’m fortunate in that I move around a lot at work, but I could be better about getting up and moving around during those periods when I do have a lot of computer work. I can always go get a drink of water!
  • Don’t scarf lunch – enjoy!: I can’t be the only one who has the hidden talent of making food disappear in five minutes or less when under time constraints…right?! Often the sense of “hurry, hurry, hurry” and “busy-ness” is perpetuated as much by me as by the people who need the actual work done. Taking my full lunch break – and actually enjoying it! – is not going to delay any work significantly but it might help me keep my sanity.
  • Breathe deeply often: When we get stressed, we start breathing shallowly and rapidly and our fight or flight responses get activated. By slowing down and taking a few deep breaths, our body goes into relaxation mode and nips the stress reaction in the bud. I’m stopping short of saying I’ll complete a deep breathing exercise one or two times a day (who needs another to-do?!), but Mark’s Daily Apple has a great article on how to make it a part of your routine.

Easy enough, right? Just my way of trying to keep some balance when the days get crazy.

Always, Sierra

Do you have to write yourself post-it notes to remember to breathe too?

What are your favorite ways to relieve stress when things get hectic?

One thought on “Keeping Those Priorities Front and Center

  1. Sometimes we forget about the little although important things in our lives right??? Something so simple as drinking water becomes difficult when we’re juggling busy lives and commitments!

Leave a Reply

