Unicorns and Dragons and Work-Life Balance

I returned from a mini vacay last week and promptly got my butt kicked by work. Not a gentle put you through your paces butt kicking, but the type that left me with barely enough energy at the end of each day for perfecting my position on the couch. Did I want to be semi-horizontal or fully horizontal? Left side or right side? Eyes open or eyes closed?

Work-life balance…what a deceivingly simple phrase. Take two things that use up the majority of your time, “work” and “life”, and balance the resources and effort put into both to create a mythical world where you’re evenly fulfilled and successful in each.

Except, it doesn’t work like that. Days aren’t always perfectly balanced. Time is a relative concept instead of a concrete fact. Sometimes one area of life requires concentrated focus, and other things slip to the side for a while, patiently breathing over your shoulder, reminding you that when you’re ready they’ll be waiting. Ever the perfectionist, when that happens I have to remind myself it’s okay

This morning, I got in a couple easy miles that my sense of balance has been gasping for.

Morning Run TemescalMorning RUn Temescal Morning Run Temescal Morning Run Temescal Morning run Temescal Morning Run Temescal

 It was a lovely, misty, cool morning, and it soothed my soul. I hope your week is starting off balanced in your favor.

Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

