Running Ramblings

The early bird catches the worm! Er…trash…

Seagull Alameda

I managed to get yesterday’s run in before the sun turned into a fiery ball of death. Without sweat dripping into my eyes, I could enjoy the views.

20130701_082023 20130701_082033 20130701_084853

It was still warm though, and I spent most of the late afternoon/evening looking like this guy.

20130701_111141

Any big plans for the Fourth? Mine involves the two B’s: beer and BBQ :). I couldn’t find any Fourth of July runs where I’ll be, but here are a few local ones if you’ve got the last-minute itch.

Alameda Mayor’s July 4th Parade R.A.C.E.

haleylogo

{race info – Orinda, CA}

Folsom Firecracker

{race info – Folsom, CA}

Thinking about setting off illegal fireworks? Make sure you can outrun the Police Chief first!

run crime

{Race Info – Roseville, CA}

Also, I know it’s weeks overdue (procrastinate much?!), but I had the chance to catch Spirit of the Marathon II when it premiered. I loved it! It didn’t make me tear up like the first one did, but all of the athlete’s (amateur and elite) had stories that were relatable and drew me in. The two Domenico’s and Vasyl Matviychuk are all incredibly funny, and Ylenia Anelli’s energy was contagious. Here are some of the memorable quotes I jotted down:

“I felt like i was somebody.” Domenico after his first marathon & Rome Marathon

“Work, family and running. It’s a matter of the principles in life.”

“Doesn’t matter how many hours [you finish in], everyone has the same emotion.”

“When I’m out running this is my time – not worrying about the future and not worrying about anything in the past.” Cliff

“You simply have to keep moving forward.” It sounds so easy!!

“The marathon originally was and always will be an extraordinary journey.”

“What I’d like to say to everybody listening, to the older people…run, run.” Domenico I think

 I walked out of the theater feeling inspired, two hours well spent!

Always, Sierra 

What would be your dream marathon location?

What are you doing for the Fourth? Any fun runs?

Are you a morning runner or an evening runner?

Leave a Reply

