Motivation Monday and Ice Cream

 

results-or-excuses-not-both

{source}

It’s been a struggle for the past couple weeks to fit in my work outs. Summer is my second favorite time of year, but with all the gorgeous weather and long days come lots of activities. There have been vacations, road trips, time spent with family, friend’s birthdays to celebrate, fun events to attend, busy-ness at work…the list goes on. It’s easy to fall in the “I don’t have time ” or the “I need this hour of free time to just chill” traps.

“Every time you stay out late; every time you sleep in; every time you miss a workout; every time you don’t give 100% – You make it that much easier for me to beat you.”   – Unknown

And even though I have been making sure to fit in a few workouts a week, they haven’t been at the frequency or the level I’d like. I have more than a sneaking suspicion that I could be putting more into every run, every strength session. So it’s time to kick myself in the butt!

How I get going when I’m not motivated

1. Switch up work-outs. Most of the time I don’t dread the entire act of working out. Instead, I think all day about what I planned on doing, and dread that specific thing. When that happens, I bust myself out of my routine and do something different. The last time this happened I had planned a speed workout on the treadmill, but the idea of running on a treadmill was yawn-inducing. I did a strength session instead and felt revitalized and full of energy after.

2. Change up the location. My neighborhood has a lot of thru traffic and is full of interesting characters. If I can’t get out to run early in the morning, I don’t like running from my house. This means during the week I end up doing runs on the treadmill after work a lot, and that gets real old real fast. When I can’t stand it anymore, I brave the 45 minutes it’ll take sitting in traffic to get to some fun trails or a nice park. It’s a time drain, but being outside and the change in scenery makes me feel like a kid again and puts joy back into the run.

3. Try something new. I just bought a Groupon for barre classes, and I’m super excited to get started. Barre classes are new to me, so I’ll get to learn something new, get a fun strength workout in, and give my body a challenge it’s never seen. Groupon and LivingSocial are great resources for fitness classes and events, but this could also mean doing a (free) run with your local run club if you’ve never partaken or swimming a few laps to enjoy the summer weather.

4.  Read a book, watch a documentary, get immersed in youtube clips, listen to a friend. When I can’t uncover my own motivation, I look for examples of other people’s motivation. Sometimes this means watching an amazing documentary…

And sometimes it just means listening to the Mr. recount his biking adventures and hearing how he pushed himself and how much he put into it. Find the quotes, movies, youtube clips that motivate you, and keep them easily accessible for those rough days.

Now that everyone’s motivated and ready to go…let’s eat ice cream! The Mr. brought me this amazingness the other day.

Dreyer's German Chocolate Cake Ice Cream

Run, don’t walk. Dreyer’s really knew what they were doing, and it’s crazy how much this ice cream tastes like German chocolate cake (one of my favorite desserts ever). It’s a limited edition, keep your eye out for it!

Always, Sierra

How do you get motivated?

What’s your favorite dessert? Your favorite flavor of ice cream?

Do you have a movie or quote or book that gets you fired up?

4 thoughts on “Motivation Monday and Ice Cream

  1. Ohhh I’m a huge fan of pistachio ice cream! I’m such a sucker for it so I rarely buy any. Otherwise, I’m pretty sure it would disappear in only a few days.

    • Pistachio ice cream is tasty! That’s how I am about chocolate chip cookie dough. My ideal situation would be to have a frozen yogurt machine installed in my kitchen lol.

  2. Ay! I’m in the same boat, my motivation for running should be so high right now, I have a race in 6 weeks! but I’m feeling stuck. Great list and advice!

Leave a Reply

