Race Recap: See Jane Run 5K

If you remember from here, my goal for the See Jane Run 5K this past Saturday was to get under 35 minutes…and I did it! Hello, PR!

Final results: 32:59, 10:37 min/mile

Age group: 73/184

Female: 463/1,573

I dropped by the race expo Friday evening to pick up my race packet.

20130607_163637

This was my first race expo and I was eager to check it out. A bit on the smaller side, they still had lots of fun booths to explore. Tri Sports Jewelry and Apparel had some shirts I fell in love with.

20130607_163843 20130607_163944

The motivational quotes See Jane Run had sprinkled around were also a nice touch.

20130607_163615 20130607_164255

I was in and out of the expo pretty quickly and onto other important things…like carb loading!

20130607_201341

With a start time of 8:30 a.m., I woke up Saturday around 6 and had plenty of time to nom on a whole wheat english muffin with almond butter and half a banana. I picked up Y around 7:15, and we didn’t have too much of a struggle with street parking even though it was pretty close to start time.

We started warming up just as the half marathoners took off. Thanks to ample porta potties (at the start and finish), we made a trip through the lines relatively quickly, and snapped a pic.

20130608_075735

And then it was time to start!

Although the 5K had a start time of 8:30 a.m., they had us line up in waves so we wouldn’t trample each other like wildebeests. The first wave (closest to the start) was anyone under a 9 minute mile, the second wave was a 9-12 minute mile, and the third was a 12+ minute mile. The waves were pretty loosely defined, and I was impressed by how orderly we all were. Each wave started about two minutes apart, and I felt like it helped to reduce stampeding.

20130608_082151

I took off with the second wave, and of course I went out too fast. I was excited! And it didn’t feel fast! At first. I managed to slow my roll and rein it in a little after the first mile, but that was mostly due to how hot it was and not so much because I showed self-control. When I finished it was 66°F! I know that doesn’t sound like a lot, but I was feeling it.

I picked up the pace with about a half mile to go and pushed hard to the finish line. I’m pretty proud of that and was excited to see that 5Kers got a medal too. My first race medal! It’s tiny but I love it.

20130608_091648

I’ve been struggling between being proud of pushing hard to meet my goals, and disappointed that I’m still what I consider slow. It’s easy to get caught up in the comparison game. I would never tell a friend, “Good job finishing, but your time’s not that great compared to the other 72 people ahead of you”, and yet that’s what I’ve been telling myself.

And then thanks to the powers that be, last night I came across the Mental Muscle article in the new Runner’s World.

Runner's World, Mental Muscle

Really, the only person I’m comparing myself to is me. Considering my last 5K time was 42:16, I don’t have a lot to be disappointed about. It took hard work to come this far, and I’m not afraid of the hard work it’ll take to keep improving (and step up my mental game!). I’ve got a hunger to keep chipping away at that pace. Until I get there, I’m celebrating this PR! I earned it!

A quick shout out to Y, who absolutely nailed it and got 5th in her age group! So proud of her!

20130608_091704

And also congratulations to A for finishing her first 5K, even if she did get have to battle pink string near the finish line.

Overall, the event was well-organized, and the swag (chocolate and champagne) was delicious. I did think they could have used better signage to point out where the “goody bags” were at the end of the race. They were handing them out in a tucked away corner, and a lot of people were juggling all their swag in their hands cuz they hadn’t seen where the bags were. We didn’t check any of our stuff in the bag check, but I didn’t hear any complaints and the system looked pretty efficient. I’d definitely run a See Jane Run race again, maybe the half marathon next year?!

Always, Sierra

How was your weekend?

How do you keep your head in the game and avoid comparing your performance to others?

 

7 thoughts on “Race Recap: See Jane Run 5K

  1. I cant say I do anything to get ahead but I keep my mental approach super strong. I see it happen in my head over and over before i even physically do anything. It helps me visualize the result and alligns my positive thoughts with anything I compete in. I love it and great job you did this weekend!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Workout Recap and How About Those June Goals? | Always, Sierra

  3. Pingback: Favorite Posts of 2013 | Always, Sierra

  4. Pingback: Workout Recap: Half Marathon Training Week 2, 12/30 – 1/5 | Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

