Hello June!

Congrats to our good friends, M & Y! They started June off right, with a beautiful wedding ceremony. It included a wedding lazo, which is now one of my favorite traditions.

This cord symbolizes lifetime unity or the everlasting union of the bride and groom when they officially become husband and wife, as well as a symbol of marital protection; while the loops formed signifies their love for one another. –Wikipedia

20130601_130830

The ceremony was followed up with a lively reception in V. Sattui‘s barrel room, a venue that I can’t recommend enough. The gardens were lovely, and all of the staff was super courteous and helpful.  I’m so happy to have been a part of M & Y’s celebration of love and commitment to one another, and am wishing them years of happiness to come.

P1000608

I was also excited to get out of workout gear for once! Is anyone else obsessed with the smell of honeysuckle?

20130601_190833

We stayed at SpringHill Suites Napa Valley the night of the reception. The king suite was spacious, and their continental breakfast is amazing…cereal, oatmeal with custom toppings, eggs and potatoes, yogurt, pastries, and on and on.

Like a good runner, I packed all my workout gear (including some new shoes I’ll be reviewing soon!). My plan: wake up early Sunday morning, bust out my usual 5 to 6 mile weekend run on the fancy hotel treadmills, and do some laps.

My reality: a little bit of sleeping in, a little bit of eggs Benedict with a side of Bloody Mary, and a little bit of sunshine.

P1000706

The past few weeks have been incredibly packed full of life and to-do’s and workouts, so I can’t feel too guilty about having a much-needed weekend off. That being said, I’m also not one to let myself slow down for too long. New month, new goals!

June 2013 Plans & Goals

  • Set a PR in See Jane Run 5K
  • Find a one piece bathing suit so I can start swimming laps again
  • Try to get a little ahead of the game with my blogging content
  • Experiment with 2-3 new recipes (probably some type of vegetable/bean/grain salads) in prep of July camping trip
  • “Break in” my new hiking boots (I’ve taken them out once and they’re so comfy I don’t think they’ll need much breaking in!)
  • Stay active on my girls trip to Mexico
  • Volunteer at the Special Olympics

Let’s get this month started.

Always, Sierra

What are some of your goals for June?

What are some of you favorite wedding traditions?

Do you have any go-to strategies to find ways to stay active on vacations?

3 thoughts on “Hello June!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Workout Recap and How About Those June Goals? | Always, Sierra

  2. Pingback: Fun Stuff I Haven’t Posted | Always, Sierra

  3. Pingback: Setting Goals for August | Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

