Quick Dinner Recipe: Build Your Own Wraps

I love to dance around my kitchen with a glass of wine cook. Sometimes I spend hours in the kitchen, dirtying all the pots and pans, creating a masterpiece of a meal with an interesting and complex favor profile, worthy of judgment by any Chopped chef. 

And sometimes I’m so hangry I just want food in my stomach as quickly as possible.

hangry

{source – my bearded pigeon etsy shop}

When I’m focused on making a speedy meal, I worry less about putting together a “composed” dish, and more about making sure I’m getting a good balance of carbs, protein and healthy fats. (I’ve been told I over think things once or twice.) Build your own wraps are a great way to do this and a fun way to be creative in the kitchen.

1. Take stock of whatever veggies you have, and chop ’em up.

veggies

I had zucchini, carrots, onion and red bell pepper. Turns out a red bell pepper is just a green bell pepper that has had time to fully ripen. Being ripe makes red bell peppers sweeter and a thousand times more delicious, and explains why the green ones cry at night when no one’s looking.

2. Heat olive oil in a pan on medium-high, and saute veggies, five to ten minutes. Season with salt.

veggies1

veggies2

I went with two pans to saute in because I had so many veggies and I didn’t want to overcrowd my pan. Overcrowding can mean steamed mushy vegetables instead of lovely sautéed vegetables with a bit of color on them.

This is a great place to add variety. I kept it simple by seasoning with a little salt, but feel free to get jiggy with it. Other ideas: sriracha, red pepper flakes, cumin + nutmeg, herbs de Provence, fresh herbs, etc.

3. While the veggies are sauteing, gather your sides and start building!

toppings

Two wraps for me because I like to eat all the things. I used blue corn and flax seed tortillas, and spread one with Sabra Hummus, and one with a quarter of an avocado.

guac 

Next, lay down a bed of spinach, or any greens, and top with a protein of your choice. I added half a leftover chicken thigh and half a hard-boiled egg on each. You could also use tofu or tempeh.

20130522_183305

4. Check on the veggies, which should be done by now. Combine them in one pan to let the flavors mingle for a minute, especially if you got fancy with the seasoning.

20130522_182726

5. Pile on the veggies and you’re done! I like to stuff my wraps so full they can’t actually be wrapped. The tastiness will not be contained!

20130522_183409

Don’t want tortillas? Try using quinoa, brown rice, or a baked sweet potato as a substitute.

And that’s a wrap! (Come on…you knew it was coming.)

Always, Sierra

One thought on “Quick Dinner Recipe: Build Your Own Wraps

Leave a Reply

