See Jane Run 5K!!

seejanerun

It’s official! I’ll be running the See Jane Run 5K and I am super excited. The last 5K I ran was part of the Run in the Park series in 2011. Seriously, I can’t believe it’s been that long! I’ve run a few fun runs, a mud run and a 10K during that time, but this will be my first official race since I’ve been consistently working on my running skills. Here’s me at the finish line back in 2011…

run int he park

This was my first “official” 5k, and there were a few things I learned the hard way:

  1. I didn’t realize taking pictures was the norm during race events, and that’s how I ended up with the above amazingness. Yay for crappy race pics!
  2. I thought I was going for a nice jaunt in the park, but all those rocks, tree roots and intense practically non-existent inclines threw me for a loop. Who would have guessed that trail running was more challenging than occasional treadmill trotting?
  3. I took part in the ultimate battle….runner vs. stomach. Runner’s trots? Sure I had heard of them vaguely. Did I realize they were a thing? A thing that really happens to good people when they least expect it? Especially good people who are inexperienced runners? No, no, I did not. I crossed the finish line and kept running…thank goodness for park bathrooms.

I finished the Run in the Park 5K in something like 42 minutes. I’m proud of that time, not necessarily because of the number, but because I finished strong that day.

I’ve come along way since that first 5K. I’ve worked on expanding my running knowledge, lost a few pounds, been consistent with my running and, most importantly, developed a passion. My goal for See Jane Run is to get a 5K time under 35 minutes. Still not super fast, but a huge improvement and a major PR is always welcome. Wish me luck!

On an unrelated note, went and saw Star Trek Into Darkness with the Mr. last night.

star-trek-into-darkness-pstr07

{source}

It was amazing!!!! Granted, I’m a Star Trek nerd at heart (sidenote: I feel like I can’t use the term Trekkie since I’ve never been to a convention but if you asked me to go I wouldn’t say no), but it’s an awesome flick even if you’re not a fan.

It seems like all Hollywood does these days is look for old movies/TV shows and remake them. Remakes can be so tricky, especially when die-hard fans are involved. With these Star Trek movies, they’ve done a great job of enhancing the characters we already know and making them even more likeable. I spent the majority of the movie trying to figure out who my fave was, but I couldn’t decide.

And, since I do love Star Trek, and grew up watching TNG, I’ll leave you with this little bit of amazingness…

Always, Sierra

Are you a Star Trek fan?

Are you running in a See Jane Run race?

Have you ever been struck by the runner’s trots?

4 thoughts on “See Jane Run 5K!!

  1. Pingback: Have a Lovely Friday! | Always, Sierra

  2. Pingback: Race Recap: See Jane Run 5K | Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

