Hello 29!

Or, as the Mr. says, “Twenty-nine and still divine!”

We had dinner a feast at Tribune Tavern. One plate of food is never enough, especially when celebrating. I like to recommend at least two to three filled with different deliciousness. That way while you stuff your face you have plenty of to decide which tastiness is going to be the critical last bite.

29 bday din tribune tav{My FancyPants cocktail}

We pre-partied hard for dinner with this tasty piece of artwork by the Mr.

panx cake

Yes, that is a pants-shaped cake that may or may not have transformed into a lovely pair of denim cutoffs by the time we finished.

The evening before my birthday I went on a hike with one of my girls. She has this amazing ability to combine a positive outlook with a keep it real attitude, and is one of the most open and honest people I know.

caught the bouquet...now what?!

I’ve been in the middle of a third life crisis for the past week or so. The idea of only having one year left in my twenties made the perfectionist in me start thinking of all the things I haven’t done yet, all the things I still want to accomplish. A couple hours chatting with C in the cool green evening air, and all was right with the world again.

Screenshot

 {borrowed from C}

My twenties were for:

  • Developing friendships with amazing women and men who have become family
  • Living with other and living alone
  • Truly believing I am okay just the way I am
  • Experiencing deep grief and loss for the first time
  • Learning the importance of living a life in line with my values
  • Learning what my values even are!
  • Learning it (whatever it is) doesn’t have to be perfect all the time every time
  • Reminding myself that growth happens when you put yourself into new and/or uncomfortable situations
  • Learning that I had to love myself before I could love someone else

Twenty-nine is for:

  • Becoming more involved with the causes I’m passionate about
  • Staying committed to the active lifestyle I’ve been creating for myself
  • Running a half-marathon?!?!?!?!
  • Glorious summer trips with the girls to Mexico and Aruba
  • Exploring how my career can better line up with what I value
  • Allowing myself to be vulnerable with the people I love and the people I meet
  • Trying new things and developing new skills
  • Finding a new space for the Mr. and I to call home and expanding our family with another four-legged creature or two (…and maybe some chickens…a lizard or snake if I can talk him into it…and i’ve always wanted a pair of lovebirds…I’m thinking Noah’s Ark would be a good goal…)

I’m off to continue the celebrations and take my favorite creature for a run. Have a lovely Friday!

lazy dog

Always, Sierra

 

One thought on “Hello 29!

  1. Pingback: Getting a long run in to do St Honore’s feast day justice! | Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

