400m Repeats Make Me Feel Beautiful

I skipped yesterday’s run because my back’s been cranky. But! I’ve got an appointment with a chiropractor tomorrow, so today I figured if I’m going to screw it up more now’s the time to do it!

5-9 run 2

today’s 400m repeats

I like to do most of my speed work on the treadmill because my sense of pace is basically nonexistent. I know I’m going to have to work on that one of these days, but for right now plugging in the pace I want and focusing only on the quality of running is what I’m all about.

5-9 run 3

About a month ago, I started with 6 x 400m repeats at 6mph, 2.0% incline, and I thought I was going to vomit. I’m not even kidding, in the middle of my 5th and 6th repeats I’d be trying to figure out if I could make it to the garbage can and having anxiety over the idea of puking at work (I’m a lucky duck and have a very small satellite gym just down the stairs from my office).

Fast forward to today, where I cranked out 8 and probably would have pushed for 9 if my back weren’t being funky. That’s what I’m talking about!

I read this blog post yesterday about what it means to feel beautiful, and it’s been on my mind ever since. Instead of having the urge to vomit today, my grin of victory kept getting bigger and bigger with every repeat I completed. A light bulb went on…this is when I feel beautiful. I’m beautiful when I push myself and prove to myself that I am strong and capable and ready for whatever the world sends my way.

It was a great workout, cranky back and all.

Always, Sierra

How do you feel about chiropractors?

Do you ever do speed work on treadmills?

Have you ever vomited at work?

4 thoughts on “400m Repeats Make Me Feel Beautiful

  1. I actually have never gotten sick during a workout, which surprises me. I’ve come close a few times and my husband (my training partner) has purposely tried to push me to that point, lol.
    Love the post, I have been doing repeats lately too…kicking tush!

  2. wow never vomitted at work, unless you consider running work?

    have done speedwork on treadmill, but find it harder to go at the same pace

    not big into chiropractors. more into postural strengthening, pilates and some yoga

    nice blog by the way

Leave a Reply

