Happy Birthday Dad

Today is my Dad’s birthday, he would have been 67. It’s his first birthday since he’s passed.

4709_793940873973_6427494_n

The blog world is all about presenting the sunny side of life, but life is about the hard, messy stuff too. The kinda stuff that makes you want to stay in bed, makes the work day pass in a fog, makes you grateful to come home to your family or friends and a glass of wine.

IMG_20130417_214425

Throughout this grieving process, one thing has been a constant comfort. My dad never went a day not knowing if I loved him. I told him and showed him in a million different ways over 28 years of my life, and I am so grateful for that.

IMG_20121031_223427

As I got older, I realized sometimes our parents need more. Sometimes they just want to be understood and accepted, the same way us kids just wanted to be understood and accepted when we were teenagers.

My dad constantly told me how grateful he was that I “got him”. It is incredibly powerful to know that in the good times and bad, I gave him comfort just by expressing my love and acceptance, not only for who he was as a father, but who he was as a person.

4709_793940454813_8233817_n

Today is your day. Tell someone you love them for exactly who they are, that you wouldn’t change a thing about them. Give them the comfort of love and acceptance that only you can provide. Ease their troubles, and brighten their day.

I love you, Dad. Happy Birthday.

Always, Sierra

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Dad

  1. Pingback: Favorite Posts of 2013 | Always, Sierra

Leave a Reply

